slum magazine

“Our dreams are a second life.” ~Gerard de Nerval

New Version of Lumiya, the Mobile App for Second Life

By Cat Boccaccio.

Oh, to have Android so I could take advantage of Lumiya on my phone or iPad! I suppose I might even log on to Second Life more than I already do. (Well, maybe it’s just as well I’m stuck with an iPhone.)

lumi image 1

Lumiya is an app which allows you to enjoy most of the features of Second Life on your Android phone or tablet. You can send and receive instant messages, teleport, participate in local chat, interact with objects, manage your inventory, see and navigate the virtual world around you in 3D. Lumiya supports mesh content and is compatible with RLV. There are no viewers to download and no special requirements, and no subscription fees. Of course it’s not the same as the big screen, but the functions available, including the the ability to move in 3D, make it more usable and fun than any comparable iOS apps, and it appears to be the most popular of the Android SL apps. User reviews  for Lumiya are also good.

lumi

So for those of you who are Android users, Lumiya 2.4.5 is now available, as I found out when I browsed Daniel Voyager’s always up-to-date blog. There are lots of new features, including:

–Inventory search.
–Auto reconnect after connection loss.
–Improved handling of large inventories.
–Runtime texture compression to reduce memory usage.
–Support for multiple external storage devices.
–Support for profile pictures, picks and notes.
–Online/offline notifications in chat windows.
–Option to deactivate active group.

All you Androidees, have fun! And I will stew in the corner with my outdated, clunky, iPhone 1, commenting in Gawker about my tragic First World problems.

Inara Pey in Living in a ModemWorld has a detailed look at the new Lumiya 2.4.5 release.

Screenshots from the Lumiya website.

About slummagazine

slum magazine is about all things Second Life: art, music, news, reviews, shopping, love and life.

2 comments on “New Version of Lumiya, the Mobile App for Second Life

  1. Daniel Voyager
    May 27, 2013

    I use Lumiya almost everyday now for SL and opensim grids. It runs smoothly on my smartphone and tablet. I’m really impressed this SL app on android because its the best so far. 🙂

    Looking forward to new updates in the near future. It’s only going to get better! 🙂

    Like

    • slummagazine
      May 28, 2013

      Happy to hear the app works so well for you. I think my next phone will be a Samsung Galaxy or something similar so I can try apps like this one. Pocket Metaverse for iOS just doesn’t compare well to Lumiya. (But I will never give up my iPad… our love story is ongoing. :))

      ~~Cat

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 1, 2013 by in News, Reviews & Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 237 other followers

