slum magazine

“Our dreams are a second life.” ~Gerard de Nerval

Cat Questionnaire: Scottius Polke

Real and Second Life artist Scottius Polke dares to answer Cat’s 14 leading questions.

scottius q

SL Date of Birth: 3/28/2008.
SL activity: Art and Shellfish.
RL location: Austin, Texas.
Bio: Even as a pup growing up in a Tennessee swamp, Scottius liked to build and texture fanciful, immersive environments in virtual worlds. His grandpa, Elvis, thought he would be better served creating assemblage art and encouraged Scottius to hang around junk shops. His real life avatar, Scott Rolfe, recently released a book called Aessemblage, available on Etsy.

1. What in SL has brought you the most happiness?
Before joining Second Life, my art had faltered to a complete stop. I found little inspiration to continue locally. Though I had joined SL out of curiosity, I soon discovered there was an art world here. The ability to show my existing art, try out new things, and be able to come into contact with others with a love of art really set me off on a new stage in my artistic life.

2. What has given you the most sadness?
How ephemeral things can be here. There have been many great builds (and people) who have made their way through SL and vanished overnight.

3. How would you describe your home in Second Life?
I have never had any real home of my own, but have had wonderful people who have allowed me to stay at their sims. I will usually have a skybox that consists of a megaprim and whatever projects I am working on.

4. Who in SL do you admire most?
Too many to recall but those who had never attempted art in RL before, and discovered their love of it here.

5. What character trait do you have in SL that is furthest from your RL personality?
Like the trait of my otter avatar, I feel I am much more care-free here. In the outside I tend to be much more cautious and enjoy fretting a lot. Though that fretting comes out here as well, so the two worlds do collide.

6. Which character trait did you leave behind in RL?
See above.

scottius questionnaire white fb smaller

7. What is your weakness when it comes to spending your Linden dollars?
I haven’t spent any in several months, but I did splurge on a horse for tinies once.

8. What is your favorite place in Second Life, and why?
Very hard to limit it to one place, but some places I miss are the Baron Grayson sims as well as La Reve.

9. What scares you the most in (or about) Second Life?
Lag.

10. What is your secret pleasure in SL?
Digital herring.

11. What would it take to drive you out of Second Life?
If Linden Lab disallowed any use of third party viewers.

12. What one word would you use to describe the art community in SL?
Purple

13. What are you most proud of in SL?
Well I think the favorite build I ever did was The Docks. It was based on a sketch I did of an odd creature on a bridge near the sea. I had the most connection with it emotionally; it somehow felt both creepy and comforting to me at the same time. I also liked that it both had a loose narrative, but the visitor was able to interpret in their own way.

14. If you built a sim from scratch with unlimited resources, what would it be called?
The Otterman Empire

Scottius’ newest installation, The Scribbled Cliffs, opens APRIL 7 at Split Screen.

“My latest build to debut is not my newest. I created this build on a private sim shortly before “The Docks,” and it has been modified for Split Screen. Like the Docks, the textures were all created using the online drawing program called ScribblerToo, that creates unique looking illustrations.

“A big thanks to Desdemona Enfield for her scripting genius on the tubs coming out of the volcano.

“At the base of the volcano is a blue tub. When clicked on (once or twice) a tub will appear that you can ride on by right clicking and selecting “FLY.” At any time you can grab the tub yourself and fling it in any direction you want, for an extra wild ride.”

The Art of Scott Rolfe website.
Scott on Facebook.

This article also appears in April, 2013 rez magazine.

About slummagazine

slum magazine is about all things Second Life: art, music, news, reviews, shopping, love and life.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2013 by in Art & Music, Cat Questionnaire, rez magazine and tagged , , , , , , , .

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 237 other followers

