slum magazine

“Our dreams are a second life.” ~Gerard de Nerval

In Case You Missed It: Cat Questionnaire: Gracie Kendal

Artist Gracie Kendal dares to respond to Cat’s 14 leading questions.

SL age: 5 years
SL activity: Artist
RL location:Los Angeles, California
In-your-own-words bio: I’m a Los Angeles based new media and performance artist, painter and art historian. For over 12 years, I’ve been experimenting with various interdisciplinary art forms including using online virtual worlds and social networking technologies to connect with international audiences and local arts communities. My current work explores notions of online identity, specifically the construction of Avatars. Two projects I’m presently working on include, “My Life as an Avatar: The Gracie Kendal project” and “1000 Avatars” a contemporary anthropology of portraits of avatars in the virtual world of Second Life.

1. What in SL has brought you the most happiness?
Dating.

2. What has given you the most sadness?
Dating.

3. How would you describe your home in SL? My home is a spacious wood and stone house created by J Jameson. It is full of art I have collected in Second Life and set on a lovely wooded LGBT sim owned by some of my best SL friends.

4. Who in SL do you admire most?

I admire most every person in SL. Being a resident here you have to learn to be yourself, be brave and face this new world with an open mind. Most people take on that challenge with amazing grace. It is wonderful to watch these people
grow and search for what they are looking for in life whether they realize it or not.

5. What character trait do you have in SL that is furthest from your RL personality?
Hmmm that is a hard one. Gracie is pretty much me from RL. She may be a little less shy maybe but she is me. She even shies away from being silly, which I am trying to get over in both RL and SL. That is what I am in search of 🙂

6. Which character trait did you leave behind in RL?
I would have to say my lower self esteem. Gracie definitely has much more self esteem and self confidence than I do. She doesn’t have to hide behind a skin that she is ashamed of or not comfortable in.

7. What is your weakness when it comes to spending your Linden dollars?
Art for sure. But also tips when go to events. (It sure isn’t clothes considering I haven’t changed in a couple years…LOL)

8. What is your favorite place in Second Life, and why?
I’d have to say my 1000 Avatars installation because when I am there I am always surrounded by the beauty in SL in the diversity of the avatars that people have created here. Also because people just drop in at any time and it’s always so great to meet new people.

9. What scares you the most in (or about) Second Life?
Being alone and lonely.

10. What is your secret pleasure in SL?
Sex?? Ok, sex. LOL

11. What would it take to drive you out of Second Life?
Linden Labs closing Second Life down. That would be tragic, but that is the only thing. Gracie will always be here as long as Second Life remains.

12. What one word would you use to describe the art community in SL?
Diverse.

13. What are you most proud of in SL?
The friendships I have made and the people I have met.

14. If you built a sim from scratch with unlimited resources, what would it be called?
Graceland? 🙂 …just kidding. I have no idea. It would probably be centered around Alice in Wonderland and would be a whole installation of huge mushrooms, tall flowers, bright colors and lots and lots of fun interactive art. But have no idea what I’d name it!

Originally published in rez magazine, October, 2011.
Interrogator and photographer: Cat Boccaccio

UPDATE: Visit Gracie’s current installment: Ce n’est pas une peinture
As part of the LEA Artist in Residence land grant, Gracie Kendal deconstructs her RL abstract paintings and mixed media work in a full sim immersive installation titled “Ce n’est pas une peinture.” Taking her 2D artwork off the wall and creating an NPIRL installation Gracie creates a brilliant, beautiful, sensual, sumptuous, unreal space that is relaxing, meditative and fun. Visit now.

About slummagazine

slum magazine is about all things Second Life: art, music, news, reviews, shopping, love and life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 237 other followers

