slum magazine

“Our dreams are a second life.” ~Gerard de Nerval

Cat Questionnaire: Winter Nightfire

This month, artist and builder Winter Nightfire bravely answers Cat’s 14 leading questions.

SL age: 5 in October
SL activity: Artist
RL location: San Francisco, CA
In-your-own-words bio: I am a painter, a builder, a wearer of outlandish fashion. I’m an experimenter, an innovator, a friend and an idea. I’m emotional, freakish, transparent, a point of light and a vast landscape.

1. What in SL has brought you the most happiness?
I should say something about people here but I am going to say building instead, because it’s true.

2. What has given you the most sadness?
Loss.

3. How would you describe your home in SL?
My home in SL is f*cking awesome. I made it myself. It is rustic, sophisticated, earthy, dynamic and open, and it looks like a gallery; it shows off over 50 pieces of art by 30 of the artists I have met in SL. I am an art collectoholic.

4. Who in SL do you admire most?
Well, my favorite otter is Scottius Polke and my favorite intuitive is Tricia Aferdita. But then there is my favorite DJ, Lynda Ultsch, and my favorite sex bomb, DJette Chronos Ghost. Oh, and my favorite pink, Fuschia Nightfire… I can’t do this question, the list is just too long.

5. What character trait do you have in SL that is furthest from your RL personality?
I run around naked in SL quite often, and I can’t say that happens as much in RL. Sadly.

6. Which character trait did you leave behind in RL?
I can’t leave any of me behind. I am too transparent. I am just as complex and moody here as I am in RL, despite my efforts to be continuously perfect in every way.

7. What is your weakness when it comes to spending your Linden dollars?
Clothing. Aargh!

8. What is your favorite place in Second Life, and why?
My house, because it has killer vibes.

9. What scares you the most in (or about) Second Life?
I am afraid that my skill set won’t develop as fast as SL is changing technically, and that my art will be left in the dust because of it. Even taking photos in SL has become a very complex, technique-oriented process, and I fear that my art won’t be enough to compete with the new art I see being created using SL as a medium. I wonder how long real life paintings will remain interesting to people in the face of this change I’ve perceived over the last years.

10. What is your secret pleasure in SL?
Not telling!

11. What would it take to drive you out of Second Life?
Extreme technical meltdown or natural disaster.

12. What one word would you use to describe the art community in SL?
Eclectic.

13. What are you most proud of in SL?
My buildings.

14. If you built a sim from scratch with unlimited resources, what would it be called?
Winter.

Winter’s new “Autumn” exhibit at Kelly Yap Art Gallery

Winter @ Virtual Chelsea Hotel

Nightfire Gallery at Avalon

Nightfire Erotic Gallery

Girls Murals

Originally published in rez magazine, October, 2012.
Photographs by Cat Boccaccio

About slummagazine

slum magazine is about all things Second Life: art, music, news, reviews, shopping, love and life.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2012 by in Art & Music, Cat Questionnaire, rez magazine and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 237 other followers

