slum magazine

“Our dreams are a second life.” ~Gerard de Nerval

Are you SERIOUS? Reflections on SL Art

By Buttercup Thursday

If I disagree with you, it doesn’t mean I am stifling your free speech. If I think some SL art is joke, I’m not stopping you from creating similarly regrettable art, or even from liking such art. Or should I say “art”? (And, from now on no more quotation marks around the words art or artist, the categories are too subjective. My meaning will henceforth be ambiguous.)

What I am struggling with at the moment is: should there be standards for art in Second Life? This is not the real world, no matter how involved we become or what structures and artificial standards may be set up by residents. If you have RL photos of home-made trail mix, or take a snapshot of an SL sunset, no one can stop you from exhibiting this work in an inworld gallery. Build it, and they will come.

And what’s wrong with trail mix and sunsets? Trail mix is good; it can save your life if you find yourself starving in the woods. Sunsets are good, they are soooo pretty! Who are you or I to say these pictures aren’t worthy to be called art and displayed in Second Life?

RL artists saw the unlimited potential that is SL photography, and took to the virtual streets and meadows armed with their own SL cameras and sky presets galore.

There are self-appointed arbiters of taste and worthiness in our virtual world; gallery curators for example, and organizations like the LEA (Linden Endowment for the Arts). That’s fine, maybe even important–these established groups can help us filter out the sand from the sugar. We learn which curators and which organizations we can trust to show us interesting, intriguing, skillful work, and which to avoid. We also learn to independently explore new galleries and exhibits, and establish early on in a visit whether we want to linger or TP out before our head explodes.

My friend Cat said in a recent slum article that “so much SL photography seems thoughtless, shallow and clichéd”. I agree with Cat. I’m not a snob about SL photography: in the last few years some truly gifted artists have been displaying their work. And when esteemed RL artists saw the unlimited potential that is SL photography, and took to the virtual streets and meadows armed with their own SL cameras and sky presets galore, the art form received a welcome if overdue stamp of approval. (I think RL artists also discovered what SL photographers realized all along: that it’s fun.)

Buttercup at Gabrielle Swindlehurst’s exhibit.

SL photographers, the good ones, are just as dedicated, often obsessed about their work as any artist in the real world. Some quick examples… the stunning collaboration that Cat wrote about, between Jessica Belmer and Corinne Helendale  at Palais Orleans, and more recently, the superb collection “Virtual Americana” by Gabrielle Swindlehurst at the Art India Gallery. Many other talented SL photographers often remain undiscovered and unshown.

So, I get irritated when I see dull, sloppy work exhibited with great seriousness. But this is SL, so maybe I shouldn’t.

But I do.

I visited an extraordinary exhibit recently. The work on the wall took my breath away, and not in a good way. The artist’s name is Vark Twine, and he is currently on display at the tower of MKAC (Museo Karura Art Center) in Second Life.

Was it art? HELL no.

I don’t know much about MKAC. It has been around since 2008 and I get a fairly steady stream of spam/notices from the curator/ owner, Ina Karura. The gallery has some impressively large buildings. I’m almost certain I’ve seen some real life artists at MKAC, and RL artists are always good for a bit of cred. If I’m a tiny bit vague about what I’ve seen there, it’s because I stopped heeding the calls to visit this or that event at MKAC. Why? Because of an innocent visit to an exhibit there about a year ago–something new, I was promised, in the world of erotic SL photography. Yay! I love erotic art AND new things!

I forget the artist’s name, but the queasy works I viewed  a year ago still occasionally invade my nightmares. There were lovely, provocatively-posed naked bodies… so realistic! The hair… The faces… But what is wrong? Morph is what was wrong. Yes, that frightening meld of SL heads onto RL bodies. Gad, where do they get the RL cadavers? How long must the artists spend in their PhotoShop cells stitching these pieces together? Why don’t the bodies reject the pixel heads, like the human body rejecting an incompatible kidney?

I grant these morphs can be fun. Some friends have morph portraits as profile pics. Haha, cool (the trend seems to have abated, though). But would I call the morphs I saw that day art? HELL no.

As an example of a trusted, serious gallery that lost its standing and credibility, MKAC shone that day. And so I blissfully continued my tours of SL galleries, MKAC-less, loving some work, loathing other work, but generally respectful of the artists’ efforts.

Now I have stumbled upon a whole new category of inexplicable art (inexplicable because it’s there), and guess where? At MKAC. The notice invited all to an exhibit of erotic art. OK, my morph trauma was a year old, MKAC is still going strong while other galleries have crumbled, and tastes evolve. Time to give the old MKAC a second chance? You betcha.

Let me say first, you should go see this exhibit for yourself. Because I suspect I will be at a loss for words from now on. Because I honestly don’t know if this is a serious display or a parody. I can’t tell. It is just so delightfully AWFUL.

He may be suffering from what I call Avatar Blindness

Vark Twine (SL name) is apparently a PhotoShop wiz in real life, using layers of textures and backdrops overlaid with photographs of nude women to create some kind of erotic collage. He seems to be mimicking this procedure using Second Life models. What you will see in this exhibit, on several confusing and difficult-to-navigate levels of the MKAC Tower, are textures and tricks, and lots of them. Bubbles, lightning, checkerboards, hearts, lettering, swirls, reflections, shadows, embossing, and an apparent favorite, jigsaw puzzle layers. Many, many complex layers, my friend, and that’s before the overlay of the “erotic” models. The avatars, their hair and clothes, and especially the awkward freebie poses are sorely, painfully outdated. Mr.Twine may be suffering from what I call Avatar Blindness, which is a phenomenon whereby the viewer projects so much of her/his self onto the pixel person, they don’t see the obvious flaws (consider the giant of a man with tiny head, laughably bulging muscles, and tyrannosaurus rex arms. Classic case of Avatar Blindness). In any case, this kaleidoscope of colors and patterns and bad avatars was an assault on this poor gallery-goer’s eyes. These pictures are closer to commercial efforts, and certainly not erotic. My first thought was the same as the one I had a year ago, at the morph exhibit: MKAC… what were you thinking?

There could be a million reasons why this work is being shown at a well-established gallery, not the least of which is that of course, all art is (allegedly) subjective. But I remain surprised at MKAC and at the many other galleries in SL that can’t or won’t distinguish between the good and bad, the objectively good and bad. The slapdash and the thoughtful. The cynical and the earnest. The artist ready to be exhibited, and the artist who has much to learn.

I can’t deny Mr. Twine’s PS skills, and he has a way of lighting the avatars that gives them a soft, natural glow. Realistic shading and skin tones are difficult to achieve with SL avatars, especially old ones. Kudos to the artist for this. And, his art is accessible to almost everyone, at L$50 per picture. He is clearly not cynical– perhaps just awesomely SL-inexperienced. Strangely, eerily, his pictures grew on me, in a retro, camp, earnest, madcap kind of way.

And ultimately, to his everlasting credit, they aren’t morphs.

 

For slum magazine

About slummagazine

slum magazine is about all things Second Life: art, music, news, reviews, shopping, love and life.

3 comments on “Are you SERIOUS? Reflections on SL Art

  1. Amedar Consulting Group
    September 3, 2012

    Thanks for any other great post. The place else may just anyone get that type of info in such a perfect means of writing? I have a presentation subsequent week, and I’m at the search for such info.

    Like

  2. Ernie Farstrider
    September 14, 2012

    As a gallerist in SL I can say that 2D art originated in SL, using sim scenes and avatars, is generally inferior to 2D art originated in RL. Both can be augmented in 3rd party utilities like Photoshop and sometimes that works and sometimes not so much. I like the clever use of Photoshop to simulate pointillism or gauzy textures, for instance. Sometimes adjusting colors works. I am aware of the point of view that says SL art should be valued in the context of its limitations.

    Having said SL generated art is inferior, I need to say that the reason is because SL is much less flexible than RL, the image-maker is much more constrained and has many fewer tools and media to work with. Given that, there are lots of good SL artists, and by that I mean women and men who dig down into themselves for a perspective on something, be it sunsets or any other “cliche” subject, digging for a shot that sees what-ever-it-is like it has not been seen or presented before.

    Okay, that brings up the issue in a slightly different way from Cat’s remarks or Buttercup’s. Image-makers achieve good art more often after lots of practice. The process of practicing nevertheless produces images, and many of these images are less muddy, less cliche, less boring than the last batch. Some SL artists get really good at one style, method, and shortly everything they do–great as it might be–looks the same and basically creates its own cliche.

    I am of the school that says you praise progress. Almost every artist in my galleries is progressing. I talk to them about what I see (and what I hear from patrons) as progress. There are currently over 600 images in my galleries, replenished four times a year, which adds up to about 2000 images a year, in other words, a lot of earnest work devoted to producing something artfully.

    Even the artists with strong RL arts backgrounds produce some dreck from time to time. Why they hang it in public is another question, but if you are an artist you know you are never quite sure, and you are hoping for feedback to give clues to the directions you should take. Openings are not the place to get crits or give them, but patrons of the arts should know that curators and gallerists are generally good at translating what could be heard as an abrasive remark into something useful to the artist. Patrons should avoid being abrasive, of course, but at the same time should not avoid the duty of a grateful audience to applaud loudly … or softly as the work may warrant.

    Ernie Farstrider

    Like

  3. buttercupthursday1
    September 15, 2012

    @Ernie
    This piece was a result of my frustration at the quality of some SL work being seriously exhibited in SL. Whatever the reason… and there are many. In some ways I blame the curators more than the artists themselves, since the curator’s job is to encourage progress but also to filter, and really, to make sure the artist doesn’t make an ass of herself. But this is SL and a different ballgame and anything can happen, and usually does.

    I disagree with your comments about the superiority of RL photography. I equate the best of SL photography with any fine, cutting edge digital work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 2, 2012 by in Adult, Art & Music, Original slum Content, Reviews & Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , .

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 237 other followers

